A book or series you hate

Day 05 – A book or series you hate

This one is really, really easy to answer for me.

Twilight.

I apologize up front to all of you Stephenie Meyer fans out there, but her concept of vampires and their contemporaries really just leaves me cold. Not only that, but when a lot of the people whose opinions as readers I respect started referring to it as “no better than bad fanfic” and explaining that you have lower your expectations to be able to enjoy it… I realized I had no desire to bother. There’s also the Romeo/Juliet factor, which has never been a draw for me.

I love vampires. I love vampire stories… I’ve written a few in the past. But I want a vampire story I don’t have to “lower my expectations” to read. I want my vampires to be vampires, damn it!

For example:

Jeanne Kalogridis‘s Diaries of the Family Dracul trilogy
Elizabeth Kostova‘s The Historian
Bram Stoker’s Dracula (I had to add it, it follows the trend the other two set)
Anne Rice‘s Vampire Chronicles
Charlaine Harris‘s Sookie Stackhouse books
Susan Garrett‘s Intimations of Mortality (tie-in to an old television show, but it is made of total win)

Heck, even Laurel K Hamilton’s Anita Blake books hold more interest to me than SMeyer’s sparkly, angst-ridden knock-offs.

For those keeping track… the master list of these questions is here.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Books | a bee from the meadow

Leave a Reply

