Your favorite book or series ever

Day 04 – Your favorite book or series ever

This is an easy one for me, as I have two different series of books that I will adore forever.

The first is the Anne of Green Gables books, by L.M. Montgomery.

What is not to love about Anne Shirley? She’s spunky, independent, imaginative, brave, smart, a good friend… I could go on and on. In short, Anne is the type of role model all little girls should have. I know I wanted her as mine when I was growing up, and I know I want her for my daughter, as well.

The other book series is The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings Trilogy, JRR Tolkien. I think I first them in the seventh grade, and since then have worn two copies of each book so thoroughly that the covers came off.

And as a bonus… before I read either of those, my literary heart belonged to Long John Silver and Treasure Island. I wrote my first fanfiction (though at the time, I did not know that is what it was) for Treasure Island, in the form of letters (badly penned, because they were pirates after all), describing the behind the scenes events during the voyage of the Hispaniola and what happened leading up to the mutiny. It was, also a quasi crossover with Johnny Tremain, which was a favorite of mine in elementary school. Looking back now, I’m not sure they honestly could have meshed, because I think the dates are off, but I didn’t know that at the time. ;-)

For those keeping track… the master list of these questions is here.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Books | a bee from the meadow

  2. Pingback: Favorite book of your favorite series | a bee from the meadow

Leave a Reply

