A book series you wish would just freaking end already

Day 01 – A book series you wish had gone on longer OR a book series you wish would just freaking end already (or both!)

I’m answering the second half of this question – a book series I wish would just end already – with the Anita Blake series, by Laurel K. Hamilton.

I was first introduced to the books in college (I think, though it could possibly have been later) by a friend, who had bought the first one because of the picture of the St. Louis arch on the cover. We read them and shared the books by buying the paperbacks and mailing them to each other. She didn’t like to read “the smutty parts” (which at the time were not all that bad, and didn’t take up half the book) so I would read them and report back to her with a summary of how it went and how it impacted the story.

I really enjoyed them, at first, because I love vampires and vampire stories, Anita was snarky and tough, and I had a total crush on Richard.

However, somewhere along the way, Anita became something of a Mary Sue, Richard turned into a hypocritical jerk, and “the smutty parts” started to over run the plot to the point where buying one meant I was buying a PWP.

I stopped reading somewhere around Cerulean Sins or Incubus Dreams and really haven’t felt the need to read another one. And yet, LKH keeps on writing them, and despite the fact that a librarian friend of mine assures me that they’ve finally reclaimed actual plots, I still keep wondering why this series isn’t as dead as my interest in it.

LKH’s other series, the Merry Gentry books, should have hooked me from the faerie angle, but sadly, they also suffered from a general lack of plot… or to be more accurate, the only plot LKH gave them were “Merry needs to have as much sex as possible with any man who moves, so she can become leader of the faeries she’s related to.” Which meant, about 75% of the first couple of these books I read were graphic, convoluted sex scenes, coupled with 25% toss-away plot.

For those keeping track… the master list of these questions is here.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Books | a bee from the meadow

  2. Pingback: A book or series you hate | a bee from the meadow

Leave a Reply

